bruce robinson……

by

withnail & i

Richard E Grant & Paul McGann

London 1969 – two ‘resting’ (unemployed and unemployable) actors, Withnail and Marwood, fed up with damp, cold, piles of washing-up, mad drug dealers and psychotic Irishmen, decide to leave their squalid Camden flat for an idyllic holiday in the countryside

: I don’t know, I don’t know. Oh God, I don’t feel good. Look, my thumbs have gone weird! I’m in the middle of a bloody overdose. Oh God. My heart’s beating like a fucked clock! I feel dreadful, I feel really dreadful!

: I don’t advise a haircut, man. All hairdressers are in the employment of the government. Hairs are your aerials. They pick up signals from the cosmos, and transmit them directly into the brain. This is the reason bald-headed men are uptight.

: I must have some booze. I demand to have some booze.

: We want the finest wines available to humanity. And we want them here, and we want them now!

: This place has become impossible. Nothing to eat, freezing cold and now a madman on the prowl outside with eels.

how to get ahead in advertising

Richard E. Grant

The Career Where Two Heads Are Better Than One

Dennis Dimbleby Bagley is a brilliant young advertising executive who can’t come up with a slogan to sell a revolutionary new pimple cream. His obsessive worrying affects not only his relationship with his wife, his friends and his boss, but also his own body – graphically demonstrated when he grows a large stress-related boil on his shoulder. But when the boil grows eyes and a mouth and starts talking, Bagley really begins to think he’s lost his mind. But has he?

: One found naked in the bathroom. “Breasts smeared with peanut butter. The police also found a bag containing 15 ounces of cannibus resin. The bag may also have contained a small quantity of heroin.”

: I’m an expert on tits. Tits and peanut butter. I’m also an expert drug pusher. I’ve been pushing drugs for 20 years, and I can tell you a pusher always protects his pitch. We want to sell them cigarettes, and we don’t like competition, see? So we associate a relatively innocuous drug with one that is more deadly, and the rags go along with it because they adore the dough from the ads!

: About as likely as the tits smeared with peanut butter.

: Don’t pretend you haven’t noticed my cardboard box, Julia, because I know you have!

bruce robinson is directing the rum diary (2010) it’s the 2nd book to be made into a film from Hunter S Thompson after  Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas (1998) if you have not read these two books “you make me sick”

buy them

lend them

steal them

JUST GET THEM READ YOU FREAKS

One Response to “bruce robinson……”

  1. RASKLART Says:

    withnail was on film4 lastnight didnt get round to watching it, always makes me want to go camping again. superb film for those who have not seen it…

Leave a Reply

