AbSoRptIon IntO thE mElody oF aByss

by

The Scenario: one night while the ticking of my wall mounted clock was lingering around the 3:00am mark, a time when most humans are sleeping, I found myself lying in my bedroom in total darkness, listening to Simon & Garfunkel’s Sparrow, and it was in the midsection of this song when I had, what can only describe as, a diluted Inner body experience of sorts.

The Song: For me there is only one way to absorb the sounds that a song has to offer and that’s with the eyes closed, an empty mind, and using a set of ear phones to play the beast straight to the brain as if the artist or band is nestled inside your skull with instruments and vocals playing out from within. Be it vinyl, tape, cd or mp3 it’s always the same, you get to hear the music as it was intended, with no outside noise pollution. slight sounds that seem meaningless in the open air now linger in the mind of all eternity, every bit of the song can be dissected and all instruments and vocals can be heard and fully appreciated.

Who will love a little Sparrow?
Will no one write her eulogy?
“I will,” said the Earth,
“For all I’ve created returns unto me,
From dust were ye made and dust ye shall be.”

The I,B,E Of Sorts: I was lying horizontal, staring into the back of my eye lids, the darkness I was witnessing was endless, a vast and gloomy nothingness without boundaries or obstructions of any kind, as the song continued to play on I began to look deeper into the murky abyss and that’s the moment it all got a little bit strange.

Even though I knew I was static and still within the confinements of my room, I had the sensation of high paced movement, that movement taking me straight up and into the darkness as if I was being absorbed into my own mind, leaving behind my physical being and riding the mind’s eye on a journey into the unknown. This strange sensation lasted around 30 seconds until i brought it to an abrupt end. I fired open my eyes to find myself still horizontal in my blackened room with he next song (Benedictus) about to start.

While in this state I had no thoughts nor did anything stand out, it was like being in a black hole with nothing to offer the mind, no faces, creatures, objects, not even a single lonely structure of any kind. Throughout the static movement I knew all i had to do was peel my vision blockers open and the bizarre state would end leaving me to ponder the last two minutes forty-nine seconds while absorbing the remaining eleven tracks.

When YOU close your eyes do you shut down? or keep looking?

F. Scott Fitzgerald: In a real dark night of the soul, it is always three o’clock in the morning, day after day.

Leave a Reply

