Short Cut (Salt In The Wounds)

by

Grave Covered In Salt

Grave Table Salt

I recall the sound my tyres made as they moved across the hardened mud walk way in St. Cuthbert’s grave yard. The sun was nestled upon my back and the gave stones seemed to be passing by quicker than life it’s self. As I continued down towards the exit I remember looking around at this designated place of rest, it was deserted but under the surface I knew it was packed with human structures in their barest form, each more complex than the concrete grave stones that marked their place of rest.

I stopped at the end of the path and began to scan my surroundings , I remember it being DEAD quite and that silence reminded me of the pages of an unprinted book, Which at the time I found strange because I knew each of these past humans who lay beneath me all once had a story to tell…….

I turned and looked back towards the entrance, the sun was flying high and it sent my eyes searching for more shaded visuals and it was at that moment when I noticed something out-of-place, like a partly decaying corpse doing the waltz at a Christmas party. I found myself looking at a grave top covered in some kind of strange white substance. The grave top in question was the last grave on the right hand side and upon closer inspection I noticed its entire surface was covered in table salt.

Grave Yard Enterance St Cuthberts Sunderland

I remember wondering what the significance was, my first thought was the salt was placed on the grave by loved ones left behind who in their self had thoughts of all manner of parasites, worms and other underground dwelling creatures feasting upon a family member or friend, so placed the salt there to be absorbed into the ground killing off the CORPSE FEEDERS and protecting the remains. My second though was to carry on with my journey so I rode through the exit and got on with my day.

Upon getting home that night I decided to scan the pages of the internet and look into the real reason behind the salt covered grave and it’s meaning, this is what I managed to locate.

Salt is used in many cultures for cleansing, purification and protection, and it’s not uncommon to see salt sprinkled around graves in many parts of the world or being sprinkled on people after attending a funeral. In some places, people sprinkle salt mixed with Holy Water on the doorstep of a new home to protect it and to prevent unpleasant persons–or spirits–from entering. Also, salt is not found in witches’ kitchens or at devils’ feasts because the Roman Catholic Church regards it as a hallowed substance. Christians recognize salt as a wholesome and essential article of diet, it seems plausible enough that they should regard it as unsuitable for the use of devils and witches, two classes of beings with whom they have no particular sympathy. Hence the familiar saying that “the Devil loveth no salt in his meat.”

Sunderland Grave Yard

Looking back at my short cut through the cemetery reminds me of this Simon and Garfunkel lyric which i share with you below.

“I will,” said the Earth,
“For all I’ve created returns unto me,
From dust were ye made and dust ye shall be.”

Leave a Reply

